SOOJIN ANJOU/ASKAT JETIGEN/ROBERT LIPPOK: Gletschermusik CD Folk Wisdom

gletschermusik

SOOJIN ANJOU/ASKAT JETIGEN/ROBERT LIPPOK: Gletschermusik   CD   Folk Wisdom

As a conceptual source, ‘Gletschermusik’ (Glacial Music) utilizes the sounds and images of Central Asia’s melting glaciers; and this is a worthy cause to highlight to the world, in this era of devastating long-term climate change.

Musically though, this does little for me.  Whilst appropriately using traditional instrumentation that fits the geographical area, it all sounds a bit hessian blankets and incense burners on snow topped mountains; and I cannot warm to it one jot.

When I think of glaciers melting, I think of frozen ambient pads drifting across a bleak landscape eventually dissolving away; and for me, this album doesn’t capture the essence of what they’re trying to accomplish.

However, I am sure there will be those out there that disagree with me; and whilst I couldn’t get to grips with this project, the music itself is accomplished and played well.

6/10

Comments are closed.