TRONDHEIM JAZZ ORCHESTRA/CHRISTIAN WALLUMRØD: Untitled Arpeggios and Pulses CD Hubro

trondheimchristian

TRONDHEIM JAZZ ORCHESTRA/CHRISTIAN WALLUMRØD: Untitled Arpeggios and Pulses    CD Hubro

Commissioned to compose work for the Trondheim Jazz Orchestra for the Kongsberg Jazz Festivals 50th celebration (yes, 50th); Wallumrød has rallied the throng to produce one 50 minute long ensemble of slowed down grinding pulses, that seep through a bizarre and sporadic stop-start collection of beats and brass instrumentation.

It is as bizarre, but unfortunately as drab as it sounds on paper.  I applaud the effort made in coming together to produce such work and there is no doubt in my mind as to the collective, as well as individual skill each person brings to the table; it’s just that as a whole, this is quite a ludicrous soul-sapping spectacle to endure.

As much as I laughed out loud at certain points (which I am sure is not the result they were after) there was little for me to enjoy on a personal level. For once, I am also at a loss to how this works live, unless they’re billed as Kongsberg’s answer to alternative comedy.

6/10

Comments are closed.