SVEN KACIREK: Songs From Okinawa LP/CD Pingipung

svenkacirek

SVEN KACIREK: Songs From Okinawa  LP/CD Pingipung

On this latest release, Kacirek takes his trademark marimba, xylophone and piano instrumentation to Okinawa in Japan. Collaborating with local musicians he has attempted to combine a variety of traditional music from the area with his own unique style.

To be fair, there isn’t going to be many people who read these reviews that are going to gel with this; myself included. However, when the vocals were left out of the mix I did appreciate the scattered harmonics of the instrumentation; and as fluttering chimes danced over each other, my electronic wizardry leanings were triggered by nothing more than physical instrumentation.

There is a charm to ‘Songs From Okinawa’; and I am sure there is more than enough on this album to satiate fans of ‘World Music’ from around the globe. It was truly a challenge to write anything about the album (I am actually unsure as to why this came through to review), but I am not going to knock this no matter how little I have to say about the genre. Whether this is a genius interpretation of the scene this resides in, I am not qualified to say. So I will give it a steady score and leave it at that.

7/10

Comments are closed.