ZEITKRATZER: Column One: Entropium LP/CD Karlrecords / Zeitkratzer Productions

columnonezeit

ZEITKRATZER: Column One: Entropium LP/CD Karlrecords / Zeitkratzer Productions

I have been avidly watching Zeitkratzer roll along with their many interpretations of other artists’ work by their ensemble for some time. These have often produced mixed results; and in all honesty I have enjoyed releases where they have covered music I actually like, which I guess is to be expected.

I have always appreciated Column One, who have managed over the years to keep themselves relevant, with an array of contributors that kept their line up fresh. With such a lengthy catalogue there is much work that Zeitkratzer could have approached; yet here we have 5 collaborative efforts, which are now seeing the light of day for the first time since they were recorded during the Maerzmusik festival of 2012.

Overall the end result is that of a steady, if not over engaging wall of Musique Concrète (which is personally a genre I cannot stand, in any shape or form), but it is done with a modicum of skill, that should appeal to aficionados. I appreciate track 3 ‘Vilde Navarseke’, which suitably massaged my penchant for Dark Ambient, with its rumbling inky backdrop of colliding rich strings, amongst raining percussion.

My interest hasn’t wavered, but once again there is here another of Zeitkratzer’s works that I will only give a passing glance to, mainly due to my own personal preferences.

7.5/10

Comments are closed.