NICK GREY & THE RANDOM ORCHESTRA: You’re Mine Again CD Milk & Moon

nickgreyyouremine

NICK GREY & THE RANDOM ORCHESTRA: You’re Mine Again CD Milk & Moon

I can’t say I have been taken with any release so far by Grey. Not to say this is any knock on his skills as a musician, but mainly down to the fact that his songs simply don’t sit well with what I like to listen to.

In some respects Nick comes across somewhat like a Bowie edged Nick Cave (which sounds as though it’s a recipe for greatness); however I am one of the few who doesn’t really care for David Bowies music and I am only slightly appreciative of Cave’s output (call me a heathen if you must), but we cannot all follow sheep-like towards what others tell us is consistently amazing – and actually isn’t.

Grey approaches his music is a twee fashion that is far too sickly sweet for me. Yes the guy can sing and his vocals have a warm resonating feel to them; but his overt poppy influences, bizarrely constructed into a bubble of squeaky-clean synth kitsch and romanticism, results in my fists itching from start to finish.

6/10

Comments are closed.