THE NECKS: Open CD ReR MEGACORP

theNecks

THE NECKS: Open CD ReR MEGACORP

I was distraught upon the realisation that this album by this long-standing Australian act comprises of one long track, clocking in at just over 68 minutes; and ever more so dismayed at the press release promoting the fact that The Necks are freeform Jazz improvisation.

My initial thoughts were however misguided; The Necks do sit comfortably under the umbrella that I mentioned, just with a little more class than I expected. Aside from the irritating jangling bells, sits a wonderfully accomplished essence of structure, warm club double bass and subtle piano lines that meld into a warm ambience.

There was little need in my mind to release this as one long track. As this is pure improvisation, there are gaps of silence along the way and these should have been utilised. There are moments of genuine beauty on this album that remind me of wet summer afternoons and provide a foundation to contemplate many an action in my life; and I would like to revisit these areas from time to time without having to fast forward through the CD to get to them.

That said, if you have an hour or so to kill and require a soundtrack to doing little or nothing, whilst watching dusk arrive with a drink in your hand, then ‘Open’ could be the noise of choice to accompany you along the transition to nightfall.

7.5/10

Comments are closed.