AOKI TAKAMASA: RV8 CD/LP Raster Notion

aokiTaka

AOKI TAKAMASA: RV8  CD/LP Raster Notion

‘RV8’ stands for Rhythm Variation 8 and is the next selection of tracks of his long running collection under this moniker.  None of the individual songs have a title and are merely ‘Rhythm Variation 1’ and so forth; this does leave me a little cold, but I understand the reasoning behind this thematically speaking.

Takamasa comes from the East Asian school of IDM.  Most of what I have encountered from this stable is excellent and in many respects ‘RV8’ doesn’t change my opinions on what I have encountered so far.

Spliced beats are chopped and scattered amongst disassembled vocals and thumping bass lines, whilst glitched electronics are overlapped with twisted filters.  The end result is an altogether engaging experience with an underlying hypnosis that drags the listener in for little under an hour.

‘RV8’ is more varied than first impressions let on.  Given time to bed in, upon my second listen I picked up on key electronics hidden beneath the surface, although this does require a heck of a lot of patience.

The appeal of this release sits with the most hardcore followers of the genre and Takamasa’s latest would be lost on the more casual listener; I however, found it entertaining for the most part.

8/10

Comments are closed.