GRISCHA LICHTENBERGER: AND. IV (INERTIA) CD Raster Notion

GRISCHALICHTENBERGER

GRISCHA LICHTENBERGER: AND. IV (INERTIA)  CD Raster Notion

You could be forgiven for pulling a sour face when you see that this release comprises of 21 tracks and some of those are barely over two minutes long.  ‘Shame’ is a word I used once I realised my stupid assumptions were a mistake.  In all honesty, I haven’t heard anything from the Raster Notion label until the two releases I have been sent for review today and I think I may just have to get my backside to their website.

GL is a warping mash of clever electronics with thumping bass structures that have previously come to me via the Hecq route and ‘AND. IV’ is no less impressive.  Emphasis is based on digital sound dynamics, glitches, whirs, bleeps and fractured pads, all cleverly chopped and constructively clattered about like audio ping-pong; the results are a blissful, playful, albeit sometimes frightening ensemble of programming genius.

A heck of a lot of this album owes a lot to Autechre and so forth.  That isn’t to say this is a direct influence, but more of a relative association that should be embraced, because Lichtenberger if I dare say it, appeals to me that little bit more than they do and that’s no mean feat.

It’s going to be of no surprise that with so many tracks on one album that there is little to set them apart.  However, this is simply one of those releases that should be consumed as one impressive collective mass of electronic excellence.

9/10

Comments are closed.