EPHRAIM WEGNER.JULIA WEINMANN: Eins Bis Sechzehn CD Crónica

EPHRAIM WEGNER.JULIA WEINMANN: Eins Bis Sechzehn  CD Crónica

The packaging accompanying this release is nothing short of excellent. A six-inch (ish) box with photographic stills and pull-outs, reeking of quality before you even venture into playing the CD.  Julia Weinmann provides a mass of images as in collaboration to the musical perspectives created by Ephraim Wegner to be consumed as a whole ideal.

As glorious as this all looks however, Wegner has approached this album from the perspective of field recordings.  People who follow my reviews are most likely aware of my loathing for the genre as a whole, with masses of ridiculous self-indulgent twaddle being churned out on what appears to be a weekly basis, with little or no regard to talent.

Together, the natural clicks and static vibrations throughout this release do in some respect work as an artistic statement and the audio manipulations raise an impressionistic viewpoint on sounds contained within the imagery.  As an installation within a gallery this would most likely carry a lot of weight, but unfortunately in the comfort of your own home, it makes little to no sense at all.

I have to express my feelings of disappointment with ‘Eins Bis Sechzehn’; I truly wanted the accompanying audio to actually contain music I could actually listen to.  I know this isn’t the point and I am aware that an album like this is merely another canvas for the artists to express themselves with, but I have no time for thespian tomfoolery and this didn’t impress me one jot.

5.5/10

Comments are closed.