GEOFFREY COX / KEITH MARLEY: Nothing But the Hours 2xDVD HCR

GEOFFREY COX / KEITH MARLEY: Nothing But the Hours 2xDVD HCR

I was fairly taken aback when this release dropped through to review, mainly as this was produced in my hometown and is a collection of short movies.

‘No Escape’ is accompanied by the piano of Philip Thomas, symbolising the need to run away to escape your problems, with the realisation that these responses are temporary and its time to face up to reality.  For the most part I do see the direction in which this was taking, but the endless shots of university halls took me back to my youth, where at college I produced movies that looking back on now, were actually pretty terrible.

‘Cider Makers’ is a ten-minute documentary, on ‘location’, observing a celebration of traditional Cider making that is 800 years strong.  Bizarrely, I found this a fairly interesting documentary and strangely cathartic if not a tad strange; then again, this is set in Cornwall.

Apart from a few extras we also have ‘A Film About Nice’, which to be fair, is just that.  This is not a documentary if truth be told, but more a voyeuristic exploration, if not almost remote viewing experience that captures the sights and sounds, without need for plot, nor story.

I am not going to knock the release as a whole, as obviously Huddersfield Contemporary Records wanted to produce this and more power to them for doing so.  But in fairness to those involved, this does feel like a work from an actual college portfolio than anything tangible for worldwide consumption; I am completely flummoxed, even though I have most likely seen worse on TV.

6.5/10

Comments are closed.