EBOLA: Mutant Dub Step Vol1 CDep Spectraliquid

EBOLA: Mutant Dub Step Vol1 CDep Spectraliquid

I have never been a massive fan of the previous works of Ebola but was intrigued to see if there were any evident changes with his camp style wise since the last outing that I heard.

Much to my surprise this is something I can wholeheartedly say I appreciate and enjoy.

Opening with ‘Painkillers’ MDSV1 draws on a variety of influences and the first that came to mind is the rich sub driven warping bass sounds that I feast on from the likes of the amazing ‘Scorn’.  This is straight down that territory and holds up well against Mick Harris and co.

Mutant Dub Step definitely does what it says on the tin so to speak, with ‘Teledildonics’ reinforcing the opening track with a vengeance, it cuts, it slides, it toys with you and if this was released on vinyl it would be a club dj’s mixing dream come true.

To round off the EP we have two mixes from scene favourites ‘Enduser’ and aural lunatic ‘Shitmat’ respectively.  As you can imagine, these are rip-roaring versions of the original and do the both justice as only they could.

Perfectly packaged (as are all Spectraliquid releases)  I would recommend this to all first time listeners of Ebola, even if it’s a little short;  and I eagerly await the next full length release with anticipation.

7.8/10

Comments are closed.